Operation Caffeination

Just another WordPress.com site

Snack Snakes

with 2 comments

This is Darren’s first year in preschool, and the first time he has ever been away from me…in three. whole. years. I was worried about how he would adjust to everything, so I was really happy when we got a spot in a neighborhood cooperative preschool near our house. Not only do I get to actively participate in my son’s early education, I get a significant discount for doing it!

Today was my first day working in Darren’s classroom. In addition to general supervision, I am supposed to plan one 10-minute small group activity each week. I’m really looking forward to the opportunity to interact with Darren in a more structured environment like this!

For today’s activity, my group made cheerio snakes. I taped the end of a piece of yarn for each child to make it easier to thread the cheerios, and taped the other end of the yarn to the table. We discussed different types of snakes while we threaded our cheerios, and then practiced making our snakes dance to our snake charmer singing. Once the snakes reached a satisfactory length, we tied the ends off and let the snakes slither around together on the table for awhile.

Threading cheerios is a pretty basic activity, but we had a lot of fun with it anyway. And it turned out that the best part of our activity came later, once we got our snakes home. What could be more fun than snacking on a snake?! 🙂

20110920-014152.jpg

Written by GRSeim

September 20, 2011 at 8:42 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Snack snakes! That looks like so much fun – mind if I borrow the idea for use with my own littles?

    jaqbuncad

    September 21, 2011 at 10:01 pm

  2. Go for it! 🙂

    Grace

    September 23, 2011 at 7:21 am


Leave a Reply

