Operation Caffeination

Just another WordPress.com site

Adaption

with 2 comments

Surprising realizations:

1. I do not change my kids’ clothes anymore unless they are visibly soiled…because I am not a masochist.

2. I don’t force my kids to sleep alone…because I am not a masochist.

3. I only pick the house up once or twice a week now, and I pay someone else to catch the nitty-gritty stuff for us once a month…because I am not a masochist.

I really don’t have an issue with being mainstream; in fact, integration is a pretty major life goal for me. My divergence from the mainstream is almost always caused by a desire to avoid pain…which leaves me scratching my head, because we are pretty far off the beaten path in a lot of ways. From where I’m standing, it feels like a lot of our societal ideals about parenting in the U.S. are unrealistic, if not outright counterproductive.

I feel so grateful to have stumbled on a simpler way of living.

20110929-151824.jpg

Written by GRSeim

September 29, 2011 at 10:18 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This resonates with me a lot. We bedshare with our children, because nearly all of us sleep better that way, and we grown-ups look at sleep-training and think that it looks like an awful lot of work, and we are lazy. And yet we still get well-intentioned relatives marveling at our stepping-out, and asking whether we’ve become hippies, bedsharing as parenting activism or something. Sadly, no: it is simply that we prefer our sleep. Same thing with babywearing, breastfeeding, pottying, or practically any other practice we’ve undertaken in the past three years that differs from the mainstream.

    jaqbuncad

    September 30, 2011 at 6:36 am

  2. I didn’t even know that kids were ever breastfed past the six month mark when I had Darren. He is very squeamish about slime, though, so he refused to try solids at all until he was ten months old and was still breastfeeding at least 6 times a day when he turned 2. I finally weaned him when he turned 2 1/2. I miss being able to calm him down/bribe him/distract him/solve any and every problem just by nursing him!

    Grace

    October 2, 2011 at 1:53 am


Leave a Reply

