Operation Caffeination

Just another WordPress.com site

Goddamn feminists

with 2 comments

Feminism can really ruin my day sometimes. Like last night, for example, when we all settled in to watch a cute little Bob Hope movie from the 1940’s and I ended up having to turn it off because unlike some people I see a big difference between romance and rape, and nothing appealing about walking the line between the two.

If it were just about career opportunities and sexual liberation, I’m not sure I’d have the energy to maintain my feminist ideals as a mother. But the truth of the matter is, while feminism may occasionally ruin my day, it has most certainly saved my life.

Written by GRSeim

October 3, 2011 at 11:21 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awareness can be a double-edged sword, and there are definitely moments when I wish I had an option to forget all of it and just be happy with the status quo. I have to remind myself, though, that if I had never tuned into feminism, if I had not stopped to think about the ways that gender (doesn’t) work in my culture, then I would not be in the position I am today to support my children in their choices to wear what they want and play as they please … and for that, I am grateful.

    jaqbuncad

    October 4, 2011 at 5:13 am

  2. Know the feeling.

    blue milk

    October 22, 2011 at 11:21 am


Leave a Reply

