Operation Caffeination

Just another WordPress.com site

10 things about Melia, age 5 months

with 2 comments

1. You and your socks. What is it with you guys? I lay you down to sleep, wearing socks. Ten minutes later I check in on you and find you sockless! I hunt everywhere, but I never find the missing pair and end up having to get you fresh socks, over and over again. Every now and then, I find a laundry basket full of your tiny little socks. I don’t even have any theories about what is going on here.

2. Morning nap in the swing? No problem. Catch a quick snooze in the car on the way to the store? Don’t mind if I do. Take my 1:30-3:30 afternoon nap anywhere other than MY spot on the bed, WITH my mom AND my brother hovering next to me the whole time I sleep? Why would we mess with perfection?!

3. I know you think you are ready for solid foods. You love the flavor, the color, the smell, the feeling of power it gives you to hold your food in your hands and eat all by yourself…but you hate the fact that you can’t get any milk out of your squash wedges and you get really upset whenever any food actually ends up in your mouth. This is a pretty serious problem in the whole eating solids endeavor! Deep down I know that this is just the first of many times that we will find ourselves in this situation. I hope that I am always brave enough to let you keep trying until you succeed.

4. I clipped your fingers while trimming your nails. ONCE. Will you let me forget it? Never. I trim one nail each day and you make me work for it. Not my favorite part of my life at the moment.

5. There is a fine line between a tantrum + back arch maneuver combo and a grand mal seizure, and kid, you walk that line. Did I mention that you throw full-blown tantrums at five months old? People are surprised when they witness this phenomenon. I am not, because you did this exact same shit in utero. Not very good planning on your part, though, because after experiencing your antics internally I am really not phased by seeing them performed live. It can’t get any worse than what you’ve already put me through.

6. THE LAUGH. God if I could just bottle that up and keep it forever. You get caught up in these adorable giggle attacks, too, and it’s super contagious. Love, love, love it. These are some of the happiest moments of my life.

7. I love the way you laze around. You like to prop yourself up on people’s shoulders in the comfiest poses, and now that you’ve mastered rolling you rarely do it anymore because why would you go to all that trouble when you could just chew on your fingers and smile?

8. The way your hands shake in anticipation when you reach for something you really want resonates with me in a way that is hard to explain. It is wonderful to see you express your simple wants in such an honest, physical way. I hope you never lose that. It is beautiful.

9. You love other children, and you aren’t shy about it! They all love the attention, too. Being loved by a baby is such a wonderful feeling. šŸ™‚

10. You watch your brother, and I can see it in your eyes: you want to run, jump, dance and scream, the way he does. You always seem to be thinking, “I could do it faster/better/louder/longer!” You want adventure and excitement and thrills, and I love that about you because I have never wanted any of those things. Where did you come from? How is it that you are so brave and daring? How can I be more like you? I feel so fortunate to get to spend the next two decades immersed in your life, seeing the world through your eyes. I may be the parent here, but we are both learning.

20111205-232816.jpg

First solid food: delicata squash from Jubilee Farm in Carnation

Written by GRSeim

December 6, 2011 at 7:30 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So adorable šŸ™‚ Not the tantrums, obviously, but the other things, the laughter, the lovings: it’s so great to have these moments of joy.

    jaqbuncad

    December 6, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    • Yes, they *very nearly* make one forget about the pit stops on the dark side. šŸ˜‰

      Grace

      December 16, 2011 at 6:47 am


Leave a Reply

