Operation Caffeination

Just another WordPress.com site

Breastfeeding vs. Mark Zuckerberg

with one comment

This post is inspired by the Facebook page, FB! Stop Harassing Emma Kwasnica Over Her Breastfeeding Pics! 

I have been breastfeeding continuously for 3.5 years. That means that, every 3-4 hours, day and night, I have put my activities on hold for twenty minutes at a time to feed one of my children. I have learned an enormous amount through this experience about health, environmental hazards, local and global politics…to say nothing about what I’ve learned about my children and myself.

Breastfeeding is universal, and it has allowed me to connect with women all over the globe. I have a friend in India who writes to me via Facebook for advice re: breastfeeding her twins. A friend of mine in Missouri referenced one of my breastfeeding photos to learn a new feeding position that allowed her to breastfeed while sleeping, which is a vital skill to master when you have a young child who needs to be fed every two hours around the clock for 6+ weeks.

Facebook is supposed to be about connection and sharing information, but you do the math…when you ban women from sharing about those twenty minute breastfeeding breaks on Facebook, over the course of a year you effectively ban a full month of our lives from appearing on Facebook. Mark Zuckerberg may not feel like that month’s worth of experience and knowledge is worth sharing, but many people disagree with him, including the children around the globe whose lives depend on it.

Far from being objectionable or obscene, these are some of the most precious, beautiful moments in our lives. This is worth sharing.

Written by GRSeim

January 9, 2012 at 5:59 am

Posted in Hippy Dippy, Lactivism

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s rage-making, that’s for sure. After the birth of my firstborn I made the mistake of uploading some of the photos from the hospital, including some of the breastfeeding ones, and they disappeared overnight. I logged on the next day to a lovely message indicating that my “obscene” photos had violated their standards, or some such rot.

    Facebook, I shake my fist at you.

    jaqbuncad

    January 11, 2012 at 6:02 am


Leave a Reply

