Operation Caffeination

Just another WordPress.com site

10 things about Melia, age 7 months

leave a comment »

1. I am your mom, and I love you. I am also Darren’s mom, and I love him, too. It kind of freaks me out when you get pissed off and try to wedge your way into the middle when you see me hugging your brother. I have plenty of hugs and smoochies for the two of you; there is no shortage, no need to hoard.

2. If your inner zen baby doesn’t get its butt up and crawling soon, the doctor is going to recommend physical therapy. I do not have the time, energy or money for that, and I know you don’t need it. I’m positive that you aren’t crawling because you’re completely content where you are. So. Introduce zen baby to your inner rebel and get a move on, girl!

3. I swore to myself that, if I ever had another baby, I would make sure that child learned to sleep on its own. Did you miss that memo?

4. I am sick of talking like Minnie Mouse, but it I let my drop voice or stop smiling you look horrified and burst into tears.

5. Elephant noises. You trumpet like an elephant for an hour or more each night, in your sleep, and it’s loud enough that your auntie can hear it from the next room. You aren’t crying, which I deeply appreciate, and you sleep through the night no problem, but I’m still not sure that you’re fully living up to your end of the bed-sharing compromise.

6. This morning, a 6’5, easily 200 lb. heavily-tattooed guy with a septum piercing and mutton chop sideburns smiled at you. And you, my darling, snarled at him, I mean literally growled. The guy cracked up laughing because it was so obvious that you were totally ready to take that scary-looking dude DOWN. I know I’m biased and all, but you are a pretty kick-ass baby!

7. Your favorite toys right now are a stethoscope (a real one, leftover from my med tech days) and a wooden toy wrench. Again…stay awesome.

8. You read people well, and make communication a breeze. Random people comment on this all the time.

9. I love how you lunge for the keys on the rack every time we pass by. I have a hunch that you will love driving someday.

10. You have a celebrity crush: the little girl in the sundress who holds a rubber ducky and grins at us on the “yellow” page in your baby’s book of colors. It is the funniest thing I have ever seen. You scream with laughter every time we read that page together, and you alternate between hugging the book to your tummy and waving your arms in the air like you’re the winning contestant swimming through balloons and confetti on a TV game show. It is hilarious, and I love how easily you access and express your great big happy feelings. Stay connected. It’s important.

20120127-152245.jpg

Written by GRSeim

January 27, 2012 at 11:23 pm

Posted in Future Feminist

Leave a Reply

