Operation Caffeination

Just another WordPress.com site

Lather, rinse, and repeat…and repeat…and repeat…

leave a comment »

I borrowed my sister’s shampoo. Why?! Why did I do it?!

Normally, I wash my hair with baking soda and apple cider vinegar. It works beautifully. I make a paste out of the baking soda and gently rub it through my hair, rinse, and then use one of these bottles to drizzle ACV through my hair and rinse again. It leaves my hair soft and shiny with no grease or frizz. So much better than any shampoo I’ve ever tried, and I’ve used a lot.

So why did I fall for the shampoo in the pretty bottle? It was there. It smelled nice. It promised to make me beautiful. It was great that first day, too, but three days later I’m still kicking myself over it. Baking soda and ACV physically remove excess oil build-up, and condition and soothe the scalp. They work with your body’s natural desire to be clean. Shampoo, on the other hand, strips all the oil away from your scalp and hair and puts your body into desperation mode. Each time you strip the body of its natural oils, it responds by replacing the oil as quickly as possible, and it isn’t too particular about getting all the ratios right. It just wants its comfortable, protective barrier back! Eventually, if you abuse your body this way consistently it will adapt and hit some sort of rhythm, which is why most people find that they need to switch shampoo brands now and then.

If you work with your body, though, it will slow oil production down to only create what it needs for its own health and protection. That means less hair problems all the way around…unless you reset the clock by falling for a cutesy marketing campaign. Bah.

Written by GRSeim

February 10, 2012 at 8:12 am

Posted in Hippy Dippy

Leave a Reply

