Operation Caffeination

Just another WordPress.com site

Own it

with 2 comments

I attended a clothing swap at the community center this morning with a good friend of mine and about 100 of our closest neighbors. The organizers filled the gym with all of our swappable clothing, lined the walls with mirrors and set us all loose to try on new outfits and claim our favorites.

Half-undressed and hair in her mouth, my friend turned to me laughing, “I feel like I’m in The Time Traveler’s Wife, running around naked like this!”

It was a fun experience for me, partially because I found some clothes that will fit my post-baby body, but also because it was an opportunity for me to see real women’s bodies, unedited, in all all their scarred, hairy, curvaceous glory.

Turns out, my butt that I’m so self-conscious about? Just saw 100 other butts that look just like it. And I actually have really nice legs. My stretch marks aren’t as god-awful as I thought they were, either, and yes, my boobs are just as ridiculously oversized as I feel like they are.

I’ve always been told that it’s destructive to compare your body to the bodies of others, but I wonder if that really applies in real life situations or if it is a truism that grew out of the size zero fashion culture that constantly bombards us with highly-edited images. I can’t help but feel awful if I compare myself to airbrushed figures and professional coat hangers, but when comparing myself to real women…well, I found the experience comforting. I am not perfect, and I am not ugly. I have strong points and weak points, just like everyone else. I’m normal.

Reflecting on the experience, I don’t feel so pressured to diet; every woman I saw today diets or has dieted in the past, and we all looked very similar. I also don’t feel the need to gush with love over every single body part. My watermelon boobs may very well be surgically reduced; why not, if I want to put the money into it? I want to be able to go jogging again, and to be able to buy clothing that fits my boobs and the rest of me at the same time!

My legs and I, however, are feeling pretty chummy after today. I may have to dig some of my leggings and short skirts out of the back of the closet this week. Again, why not? If you’ve got it, flaunt it, right, and I mean…not to brag or anything. But we’re talking Christmas Story leg lamp good! 😉

20120212-030723.jpg

…the soft glow of electric sex gleaming in the window…

Oh my god I just picked my Halloween costume for this year! I just need the fringed skirt!

Written by GRSeim

February 12, 2012 at 11:24 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ahahaa, I hope you post pics of that costume! 😉

    Although, having been a frequenter of our local nude beach, I absolutely agree with you that it’s comforting to be able to see so many other normal bodies. People are squashy! They have bits of them that are gorgeous and bits that are less gorgeous, but for the most part we’re all pretty decent under our clothes. It was quite a self-confidence boost.

    jaqbuncad

    February 13, 2012 at 7:42 am

    • Ha, that would be quite the experience. I’ve yet to work up the courage to visit the nude beach in our area.

      MWS

      February 16, 2012 at 4:34 am


Leave a Reply

