Operation Caffeination

Just another WordPress.com site

Why are we even having this conversation?

with one comment

Every time I take my kids in to see the pediatrician, we have this same conversation:

Doc: “So, how is baby’s sleep going? Is she giving you some good stretches of sleep at night yet?”

Me: “She sleeps through the night.”

Doc: “Really? Like, five hours? Seven hours?”

Me: “More like twelve, actually.”

Doc: “Wow, that is a long time for a baby to go without eating! Does she wake up hungry?”

Me: “No, she eats three or four times a night I think. I’m not totally sure on that number, actually.”

Doc: “So you wake her up to feed her?”

Me: “No, she sleeps on a firm, flat, hazard-free mattress with no fluffy things or drunk people, and I sleep next to her and I don’t know how many times she eats at night because she rarely wakes me up.”

Doc: “So she wakes up to eat and you sleep through it?”

Me: “No! We both sleep through the night! She eats in her sleep!”

Doc: “Well…she seems to be pretty alert and healthy…I’m surprised that you’ve made it (x length of time) without sleep though! You must be exhausted!”

I should get a camera crew in here to do a documentary on the apparently totally unheard of cosleeping lifestyle. In a nutshell, though, it goes like this: we get in bed and we go to sleep. The breastfed child continues to breastfeed on demand through the night. I’ve had more than three consecutive years of breastfeeding experience and my baby has been perfecting her skills for seven months now, so, yeah, we really don’t wake one another up very often. We’re pretty good at what we do. I’m just shocked to find out that so few people live the way we do. I stumbled into all of this through sheer laziness. What is the matter with the rest of you? Are your lives so easy that you want to create more work for yourselves?

Written by GRSeim

February 14, 2012 at 6:44 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Huh. We ended up cosleeping too, and although I’d known it was an option, I do have to admit that most of it was laziness – why on earth would I want to get up x times a night to fetch the little one out of his crib, nurse him for twenty to thirty minutes, get him to go back to sleep, and then wake up and do it all over again in an hour or two?! Much easier, not to mention warmer, to just stay in bed.

    jaqbuncad

    February 18, 2012 at 2:15 am


Leave a Reply

