Operation Caffeination

Just another WordPress.com site

Springtime

leave a comment »

Today was the first day of Spring, and we slept in and ate frozen waffles for breakfast because we really can’t be bothered to cook right now.

We went for a walk around the neighborhood together in the sunshine, and once we were sure the weather was going to hold we met up with some friends at the beach. Jon chased the kids around and made them laugh while the other mom and I discussed our vacation plans for the summer. We’ll be heading to Boston this year. They are off to Japan. I swear, I will get a passport one of these days. I will do it. I am going to travel if it kills me.

20120320-210536.jpg

20120320-210626.jpg

20120320-210701.jpg

The wind picked up in the later afternoon, so we took the kids to our favorite local burger joint where we’ve developed a “divide and conquer” routine that has evolved into an art form: Jon orders our usual assortment while I stand next to a booth full of people dawdling over their meal, waiting to claim the table
literally the second it goes up for grabs. Born and bred in the deep South, it still feels rude to me to stand in line for an occupied table like that, but it’s the only way to get a seat at a place where the lunch line wraps around the block so I’ve learned to just go with it. And I must admit, I feel like such an insider when I swoop in and get the cozy corner booth before anyone else gets a crack at it.

20120320-211759.jpg

Condiment cups are the best toys ever.

Once the kids were subdued with nice warm tummies and plenty of fresh air and exercise, we meandered home to play a few rounds of Pajaggle (which is rapidly becoming D’s favorite game) together while I read a chapter of “The Wind in the Willows” aloud. We snuggled into bed a little earlier than usual because the chilly weather has left us feeling drowsy and the kids can’t read clocks yet.

20120320-210730.jpg

I wish this week would never end.

Written by GRSeim

March 21, 2012 at 4:21 am

Leave a Reply

