Operation Caffeination

Just another WordPress.com site

Timeless

with 2 comments

20120407-212320.jpg

I’ve never seen my son this excited about story time. I think he’d be completely happy if we just looked at the maps together all evening…but to actually read the story? Oh, rapturous day. He is crazy with joy, interrupting every few minutes to repeat incredulously, “The dwarves are going to win real gold? They’re going to win it from a real dragon?!”

This is a special experience for me. My father read books aloud to me every night all through my childhood, beginning with The Hobbit when I was about D’s age. I am positive that my ability to read and write grew out of those thrilling nightly adventures.

I hope that I do the story justice. I hope that my kids can get lost in the fantasy the way I did as a child. And…I hope those dwarves do win the gold from the real dragon!

I’m finding that all the best books are at least as appealing to me now as an adult as they were the first time I encountered them, twenty years ago.

Written by GRSeim

April 8, 2012 at 4:37 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I first heard The Hobbit at your house. Can I credit your dad with turning me into a Tolkein geek? 🙂

    Bethany Bassett

    April 13, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    • Funny, but not surprising! You should have seen our house when the movies came out. Posters, the collector’s DVD’s with the 10 seconds of deleted footage included, soundtracks…one of my sisters had a collection of movie ticket stubs and would innocently pull it out to show her friends: “Check it out! I’ve seen The Return of the King in the theater seventeen times this month!” I wonder if she still has it, actually…I wouldn’t be surprised. 🙂

      MWS

      April 16, 2012 at 9:41 pm


Leave a Reply

